European Chamber members elect new leadership Go back »

2014-04-25 | All chapters

As President, Jörg Wuttke will chair the Executive Committee, which is responsible for providing strategic direction for the European Chamber and representing its 1,800 member companies. Jörg is a German national and has been Vice President and Chief Representative of BASF China since 1997. This will be his second stint as President of the European Chamber, after having previously served for three years between 2007 and 2010. He replaces the outgoing President, Davide Cucino, in the role.


Newly-elected European Chamber President, Jörg Wuttke, said: “As one of the 51 founding members in 2000, I believe the European Chamber has been remarkably successful in creating a unifying platform where our European members cluster around business sector interests and common issues, not national factions.  But the Chamber is competing to make our voice heard in a changing China, whose policy-makers are increasingly assertive of national interest and concerned about an economic downturn after years of seemingly unstoppable high growth.” 


Mr. Wuttke continued: “I am delighted to be back at the Chamber to further contribute to its valuable work at what is also a significant time for Europe. Our established senior-level friends in Brussels will hand over to a new Commission and Parliament in November and European leaders are currently preoccupied by geopolitical developments closer to home. The reconvening of the EU Parliament after the summer will set the tone for a new engagement cycle with China. At that time, approximately one year after the Central Committee’s Third Plenum―possibly in the midst of a slowing economy―questions will be being asked about real changes on the ground in China. The European Chamber’s Position Paper, to be released in autumn, will therefore be more important than ever at such a critical time.” 


The Chamber’s New Leadership


The Executive Committee is composed of elected members and is collectively responsible for managing the European Chamber and representing its 1,800 member companies.


The newly-elected President, Vice-Presidents and Treasurer of the European Union Chamber of Commerce in China Executive Committee 2014/2015:


President – Mr. Jörg Wuttke

Chief Representative, BASF China


Vice President – Mr. Bertrand de La Noue

General Representative, TOTAL (China) and Chairman of TOTAL (China) Investment


Vice President - Mr. Mats Harborn

Executive Director, Scania China Strategic Office


Vice President – Ms. Sara Marchetta

Resident Partner, CHIOMENTI Studio Legale Beijing Representative Office


Treasurer - Mr. Francois Bernard

Chief Executive Director, FJA & Partners


In the days leading up to the Annual General Meeting held in Beijing, Local Board elections were also held in the European Chamber’s six other Chapters across China. The elected chairpersons of the Shanghai and Pearl River Delta Chapters have also been appointed as Vice Presidents of the European Chamber’s Executive Committee:


Vice President – Mr.Stefan Sack

Chief Executive Officer, Comau China


Vice President – Mr. Alberto Vettoretti

Managing Partner, Dezan Shira & Associates

On 6th May, the 28 EU National Representatives on the Supervisory Board will also elect three States Representatives to the European Chamber's Executive Committee. 


About the European Union Chamber of Commerce in China

The European Union Chamber of Commerce in China was founded by 51 European member companies in October 2000 to give European businesses a common voice across different business sectors, nationalities and regions of China. The European Chamber now has approximately 1,800 member companies and is active in seven chapters across nine cities: Beijing, Nanjing, the Pearl River Delta (Guangzhou and Shenzhen), Shanghai, Shenyang, Southwest China (Chengdu and Chongqing) and Tianjin. The Chamber is recognised by the European Commission and the Chinese government as the authoritative and independent voice of European business in China.


For more information, please contact:

Ms. Yolanda Zhang

Press Officer

European Union Chamber of Commerce in China

Phone: +86 (0)10 6462 2066 - 22



For more information please contact

Xinhe Fan